Login (sign up)
Username Password

Latest Comments
Latest Forum Posts
What To Soap for Beginners?
Nov 29, 2006 by Rictor

So I'm a beginner soaper and was wondering what is recommended for me to learn how to balance and start soaping.
Replies

Nov 29, 2006DeanSoaper

PVC pipe, its what I use, I have a good 8-10 ft. piece, I use it in my basement, and right now, and recently, if I dont go out and Soap, I bring the pipe in my room and practice. So far I have been practicing my farfs, ufos, cab drivers, unitys, and royales, I Soap for hours a time in my room especially at like 12-2 in the morning.

-Corey

Nov 29, 2006Rictor

sweet, thanks for the recommendation, know how much that stuff costs? Maybe i'll go to Home Depot in the next couple days and pick up a ...Pvc pipe (just thought How I was going to fit a 10 ft. Pvc pipe in my car) What do you use to keep it sturdy while you soap it?

Nov 29, 2006Rictor

^they come in different thinkness aswell, right, what would you recommend. I want to know everything before I go there, and come back without a pole to get a question answered, that 1 less day of practice.

Nov 29, 2006SapAuthor

Alrighty, first off, yes, PVC pipe is the way to go. You can use 2 or 3 inch (don't know about thickness, they very in diameter). 2 inch is cheaper, still grindable, 3 inch is larger and a little more sturdy if you ask me (if you have braodsides, then go with 2 inch because 3 inch is too wide for the small mid sole plate).

They cost about 8 for the 2 inch, 12 for the 3.

As for grinding first, i would work on balance, if you want to do tricks, i ordered them on my site's trictionary (found under "What are SOAPs"), www.sonicandpals.com/soaps/index.swf