Login (sign up)
Username Password

Latest Comments
Latest Forum Posts
SOAPing for starters
Jan 22, 2010 by Tedd

If any of you ate interested in SOAPing and are an absolute noob at it, fear not! There are two links I can give to you for this occasion.

First is the grinding shoes. Without the shoes, you can't grind. And what's SOAPing without grinding on shoes? Right. Walking. LAME. What? Don't have SOAPs yet? Don't want to ruin your new SOAPs (yet)? Fear not! For this link will give you a tutorial on how to make your very own homemade SOAP shoes, granted you have a pair of shoes you're willing to.. Ahem, dissect. The materials are easily obtainable at any hardware store or maybe even Wal-Mart!

http://www.instructables.com/id/Soap-Shoesmake-your-own/

Now for the second link. This allows you to grind and practice safely (for the most part) and in combination with your homemade SOAPs, you can practice without fear! It's grinding on a short pipe build with either PVC or and actual metal pipe on planks of wood that you can set on the soft grass (if you have it) so injury is minimal (hopefully). Again the materials are easily obtainable at a hardware store or Wal-Mart or what have you.

http://www.instructables.com/id/Grind-rail/

With this, you can practice for when you get your own shoes, or if you can't get any, then you have some of your very own homemade ones! Best of luck to all of you!
Replies

Jan 23, 2010CheElmo

Sweet! Thanks for the links. The rails in the UK suck, as they have "joints" every 2-5 feet of pole. And I'm failing using corners of small walls and curbs. I keep stepping instead of sliding.

Jan 23, 2010Tedd

Yeah. That would ruin a SOAP session if all you had were tiny spaces for grinding then joints. If you had the skills and access to welding equip., then you could make your own grind park/tricked out training area. Bends and downhills and all.

Jan 23, 2010Brad