Login (sign up)
Username Password

Latest Comments
Latest Forum Posts
To wax, or not to wax?
May 31, 2007 by Locke

I've seen a lot of discussion on here about waxing, and I was just wondering; is it necessary? And if so, what situations absolutely require waxing, and which can you let it slide? (No pun intended)

I'm rather new to Soaping, so pardon my lack of knowledge.
Replies

May 31, 2007AnthoFlex

Ledges almost always need wax, depending on what its made out of. If you like the smooth slick feeling, you can put wax on rails

May 31, 2007Locke

Okay, but what about curbs with paint? Can I get away with not waxing those?

May 31, 2007AnthoFlex

You could....but, like most curbs, even painted it will still destory your plates pretty fast. Just wax everything you grind up

Jun 1, 2007iwantsoapshoes

how exactly do you wax something?, i mean do you just walk up to some random curb on the street, get out your big tub of wax( people are really starting to stare now) dip your hand in and, wax away?

Jun 1, 2007AnthoFlex

wtf....dude, waxing means you take like a candle, or a bar of Soap, or a bar of SKATE wax (works the best) and start rubbing whatever you are grinding.

People will look at you like "wtf" but i love that. Especially when imma grind a Handrail. People usually stop and stare and when i grind the rail, i get a bunch of "woah hey! niiice" or people start clapping sumtimes.

Jun 1, 2007SapAuthor

careful though, not all wax is created equal. The best grinding wax is Golf wax (yes, golf wax). Softer waxes can build up and slow you down, golf wax is really hard stuff. Takes longer to put on, but a much smoother grind.

Jun 2, 2007OT

I've been soaping for some months now and I haven't used wax yet, so yes it's highly possible to soap good without wax. I've mostly been hittin' round and triangular rails but I've been on some curbs too.

Jun 2, 2007AnthoFlex

Yea, the harder the wax, the better the ride

Jun 2, 2007RamenRadio